YA books : The Hate U Give

Part1

Thomas, Angie (The Hate U Give) (2017) New York, NY HarperCollins

Genre: Young adult fiction

Grade level: 9-12

Part 2:

This was a great book and it tells a story about real life issue that occurs. We hear about police brutality on the news and racism these are issues that people deal with throughout their lives. I l really enjoyed this book my heart broke for Starr I would not know how to react if I had seen my best friend away from me right before my eyes. I would have a difficult time wanting to testify in court, but I would because it is important to stand up for what you believe in. This book kept me interested the whole time because I wanted to know what would happen in court or what led the police to do what they did. I was happy that Starr did testify in court because I truly believe you should stand up for the issues you believe in and that are not right.

Part 3:

This was a good plot for a story because it dealt with a real-life issue like police brutality and racism which are two big topics. I enjoyed it because I have never read a book dealing with life scenarios like this. It was interesting to see the balance had between living in a poor neighborhood but going to a fancy prep school. The setting was in Garden heights which is an urban community. The themes in this story are racism, injustice, race, community, belonging, bravery, belonging, and family. This story was told in Starr’s point of view.

Part 4:

First activity is having student research about different cases of police brutality that have occurred and present about it

ELA W,9-10.2 : Introduce a topic, organize complex ideas , concepts , and information to make important connections and distinctions; including formatting( headings); graphics ( figures and tables) and multimedia when aiding comprehension.

Discuss with peers if you have ever experience racism or feeling like you do not belong

After reading this book students should be able to identify two different themes explain how they relate to the story.

https://readingagency.org.uk/resources/2101/ discussion questions

https://homeschoolsuperfreak.com/the-hate-u-give/ Lesson plans and activities

http://engagingandeffective.com/3-ted-talks-to-pair-with-the-hate-u-give/ TEDx talks and activities to do with them

1) Do you think the sentencing was right for the trial of what happen to Khalil

2) Have you ever experienced racism if so how?

Objective : Students should know 3 characters by the end of reading this book

Leave a comment